Guest Reviews

Marilyn and John Kramm (Balapitya), October 2013

We have just returned from four peaceful, undisturbed and relaxing days around the swimming pool at ‘The Retreat”. The house is spacious, well presented, and the furniture and finishing are of a high standard. The large air conditioned bedrooms are very comfortable and well appointed with ensuite bathrooms. Double doors lead onto a large balcony, revealing a beautiful view of the garden and river. The “on site” staff are helpful and unobtrusive, and they keep the garden and house clean and tidy. The four person rowing boat was ideal for a little fishing or just a quiet paddle around the lagoon. We did not use the television once, and for us this break was heaven. However Hiddakduwa and Galle were only minutes away with plenty of restaurants and shops. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wanted “to get away from it all”.

 Dave Whittingham and Jill McArthur(Leamington Spa) , August 2013

 Tranquil and idyllic, that’s The Retreat ! The initial view from the terrace and pool looking out over the lake is stunning and a wonder to wake up to every morning. The jetty was a regular base in the evening for us, just to watch the sunsetting or to see the fireflies dancing around at night. As too was the cabana – a great social area at night or for just chilling out with a glass of wine or book in the hammock! The house is wonderfully spacious, extremely well equipped with everything you would need during a stay. Beautifully furnished with handmade furniture and decorated throughout with original local art pieces but equally up to date with all the modern comforts of home. This all comes with the added bonus of Prem and Senita, on site housekeepers , who could not do enough for us but were also very unobtrusive, whether it was putting cushions out on the sun loungers, shinning up the trees in the garden for coconuts or buying freshwater prawns from a passing local fisherman on the lake for us to eat for lunch. Philippa and Paul have built up some very good and extremely reliable local contacts in the area, including local drivers who were there whenever we needed them with their tuk-tuks at a few minutes notice,to take us to local attractions and restaurants in the evenings, as well mini bus guided tours of the island further afield. These guys were fantastic in how they looked after us, whether it was a ten minute tuk-tuk ride to buy locally caught fish for dinner or a 3 day guided tour of the island. They have a great local knowledge ,are happy to translate and will readily accompany you during any trips out, making exploring the local region all the more pleasurable. The location of The Retreat, attention to detail with the house,the friendly local people and fantastic food and sights makes this one of the most memorable holidays ever. We will be back and can’t wait!

  Michelle and Andy Bailey, (Spalding), December/January 2014

 The retreat is an amazing villa with great facilities and stunning location. The gardens, villa, and grounds are fantastically maintained by Suneeta and prem who live in the grounds and are discreetly ever present to look after all your needs and any queries? Local family of three brothers are always free for tuk tuk tides to the local beaches and restaurants of which there are many? They also offer collection from airport service and a excursions to see the island. A two day bespoke trip was organised for us to incorporate all the sights that we wanted to visit during our holiday. Hikkaduwa itself has great beaches where you can relax also offering many restaurants on the beach or off the Main Street offering traditional local dishes as rice and curry to mainstream European fare.

  Laura Shepherd, (Norfolk), February 2014

 The retreat at blue lagoon has all the comforts of home but is set in the most beautiful location, on a lake, in the sun, surrounded by jungle. It is luxurious without being over the top. The house is stunning and love the open plan, bring the outside in feel it has. The house and grounds are maintained to an excellent standard by the housekeepers Prem and Sunita. They are very attentive but so discreet we hardly noticed they were there. Sunita is a fabulous cook, some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka was made by her. We shopped for ingredients in the local markets and villages (an experience I would highly reccommend) and she did the rest…delicious. The retreat is a perfect base for exploring more of Sri Lanka. Its central location teamed with the great service of the Hikkasurf ‘family’ meant we could arrange day trips by tuktuk to spas (the amba spa in Balybitya is bliss) / beaches / turte hatcheries etc and longer trips by minibus- e.g. we went to pinnawalla elephant sanctuary and kandy city over two days very easily. The guys arrange everything at great value cost. Hikkaduwwa town is vibrant and lively, every restaurant serves beautiful fresh food and drink…well cocktails!Where else in the world can you have a pina colada made of fresh pineapple and coconut straight from a tree? The villa was definately the best way to relax, being by the pool surrounded by beautiful green jungle soaking up the sun and enjoying the weird and wonderful sights and sounds! All in all this a perfect place to holiday, relaxing and exploring. Sri Lanka is a beutiful country with a beautiful culture! Perfect!

  Leanne Crawford, (Norfolk), February 2014

 Stayed here for two and a half weeks in feb this year and had an absolutely fantastic time. We made the most of the gorgeous villa and pool, had meals that were quite frankly out of this world cooked by the housekeeper who with her husband kept the villa and grounds beautiful! The villa itself has everything you need for a luxury stay decorated with stunning local artwork. There is an ample kitchen fully kitted with every applience you could need, three ensuite huge double bedrooms and gorgous living and dining spaces. We also took the advice of the owners and booked trips via Uppal to candy, the millennium elephant sanctuary (where we had an elephant shower!), a tea plantation, turtle orphanage and other trips which were also great. Channa the tuk tuk driver was incredibly helpful with all aspects including phone topup, shopping and telling us about sri lankan life and made getting to and from Hikkaduwa completely hassle free and reccomended many great places to eat and drink. I met some amazingly kind people during my stay and I cant actually wait until my leave is authorised for next year so we can book to go again!

 Andrew Heskett, (Sunderland), February 2014

 We all had a fabulous time. The villa was fantastic; the pictures don’t do it justice. Sunitha cooked for us every morning and whenever we asked her to and everything she made was delicious. The whole team were really helpful. Sanje and Channa, the drivers, took us to places we would never have found if left to our own devices. They really looked after us. One morning, we even managed to persuade Prem to take us fishing, but the fish were sleeping, so it was a boat ride. We had an excellent holiday and would definitely recommend the villa to anybody. We would like to return one day.

 Pat and Lesley Sage,(Moulton, Lincs), March 2014

 Due to circumstances, our usual preference for independent traveling changed; we needed peaceful, well serviced, comfortable, self-catering facilities with good access for taking trips of 1-5 days away from base. The Retreat far exceeded these needs. ‘Well serviced’ included (i) the daily property and pool maintenance by Prem plus the option to sit fishing with him on the jetty as the sun went down, (ii) paying extra for his wife, Sunitha, to cook one or all of our meals, learning her recipes and techniques plus joining her on the shopping for fruit and vegetable (all highly recommended), (iii) the services of Hikka Surf for anything ranging from the 5day/4night trip to Sigyria and up north to tuk-tuks for local shopping and trips. ‘Comfortable?’: luxurious is more appropriate for all three en-suite bedrooms, the spacious living spaces and outdoor areas; the pool is excellent. ‘Self-catering’: although we chose to use Sunitha’s talents for breakfasts and evening meals, from which there was ample ‘left-overs’ for lunches, the facilities and equipment to self cater are equally as good, if not better, than many ‘well-serviced, comfortable self-catering’ facilities we have stayed in elsewhere. ‘Peaceful?’: definitely, although you either love or hate the twice daily jingle of the bakery tuk-tuk as it wends its way around the lanes on that part of the lagoon! Hikkaduwa is definitely a younger person’s area but we ‘oldies’ (late 60’s) did not feels out of place. The town has a nice ‘buzz’ about it, having regained its vibrancy after the losses it suffered in the Boxing Day tsunami. We both enjoy wildlife and bird-watching so were delighted with a ‘garden tally’ of 26 birds species plus water monitors and the ever playful palm squirrels on top of many other species, including well over 100 different birds, spotted on our various trips. We had an excellent 3 weeks holiday and The Retreat just made the whole experience special.

 Joe and Helen Davies,(Henley in Arden), April 2014

 A fabulous week, just what we needed. A great team looked after our every need. We especially enjoyed paddling down the lake for dinner, to be the only guests at the restaurant, and then paddling back. Stunning home away from home, allowing quality family time. Will definitely return, thank you.

 Jude Swinson via Trip Advisor. July 2014

We stayed at The Retreat in July. The villa is absolutely beautiful…a real 5 star experience! Prem and Sunitha are truly wonderful hosts who looked after us really well. I would highly recommend Sunitha’s cooking – homemade Sri lankan dishes – delicious!! Prem kept the grounds spotless, cleaning the pool every morning and both always had a smile to greet you. Our drivers, Channa, Sanjay and Upul are very knowledgeable about Sri Lanka. We wouldn’t have seen the best Sri Lanka has to offer if it wasn’t for them. They are very proud of their country and quite rightly so!! We experienced the elephant festival – a definite must see – a very grand affair. Also, take a train ride up the mountains to see the tea fields – a fabulous experience. We will definitely be returning one day as this is one of our best holidays ever!!
 Deborah K via Trip Advisor. July 2014
The picturesque retreat is situated in a stunning location, sat on the banks of a shimmering lake aptly named ‘the blue lagoon’. If requested , the local Staff will cook delicious traditional Sri Lankan foods, which can be enjoyed ‘Al Fresco’ on the terrace whilst watching the sunset over the Blue lagoon after a relaxing dip in the pool. The regular drivers have extensive knowledge of the area and attractions further a field, offering cheap rates to guests at The Retreat. Excursions can be arranged at short notice with the Drivers, to many fascinating activities and attractions for example: Elephant orphanage, turtle sanctuary and a ride on a Steam train up the mountains to visit the tea fields. My stay was breathtaking, relaxing and the very best holiday i have had in my life.
 Karie H via Trip Advisor. October 2014
This 3 bed/3.5 bath house is set in a quiet corner of the lagoon. We had two families with four children aged 5 to 7. The kids never wanted to leave the house. We took the boat out in the lagoon, swam in the lovely pool, and ate food created for us by Sunitha. It was simple and easy and we were well taken care of by the staff. I would recommend asking the owners to book your incoming taxi – the house is quite difficult to find if you don’t know where you are going. Also, the pool’s shallowest depth is over 1 m, so the two smallest children couldn’t stand on tiptoe.
 Denis Zielinski (via Airbnb) November 2014

Our stay was amazing. The villa was perfect. We definitely need to come back, we promised to Preme and Suneetha! They were fantastic for us at the villa, with their smiles, service and delicious meals. We also enjoyed taking time with Sanjee, he was the best guide and driver we could expect for a 4-day trip around Sri-Lanka. We loved it and found new friends! Go ahead

 Manisha A via Trip Advisor. December 2014

We stayed at The retreat, total of 6 adults and 2 small kids(under 7). The villa is very nice, comfortable and situated perfectly on a lake. The bedrooms are large, bathrooms are modern and the grounds are excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, which was kept clean every morning by Prem. Prem’s wife Sunitha does excellent cooking and we enjoyed her breakfasts and dinners. Sunitha also took care of our laundry and numerous other chores. since the Villa is right on the lake, we were able to do fishing and go on boat ride. The Hikkaduwana beach is about 15 mins tuk tuk ride. Our entire stay at the villa was excellent and we were very well taken care of by Sunitha and Prem. If there was one thing that was a nuisance, it was the mosquitoes(byproduct of being on a lake with lot of greenery). Take a lot of bug spray/cream.

Kia, Dubai, UAE

 Philippa was so helpful from start to finish. The photographs of their home do the place no justice. The Retreat is tranquil and the perfect place to unwind, we only wish we could have stayed longer! The best aspect of the house, however, are the people who run it, Preme and Sunitha. They were amazing hosts and took such good care of us. Thank you Philippa, Preme and Sunitha for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home, we are already planning our next trip to The Retreat! What Kia loved about your listing: The gardens are stunning, we loved waking up and spending time on the jetty and by the pool. Preme and Sunitha are amazing, they took care of our every need and made us feel very welcome. Thank you Philippa for allowing us to stay in your home, it surpassed our every expectation and we can’t wait to visit again soon. What Kia thought you could improve about the experience: There is nothing you can do to improve The Retreat, we loved our time there.

 Aleksandra Popova (via Airbnb) January 2015

Our stay at the villa was really magnificent! Photos can’t even describe the beauty of that place! Everything was perfect and everybody were very helpful! Many thanks to Sunitha, Preme, Sanje and of course Philippa! In love with Sri Lanka and in love with The Retreat at Blue Lagoon!

Lorraine, Spalding, UK, February 2015

“Magnificent”

I went with some friends to the retreat, And what a treat it was… Absolutely stunning the pictures do not do it justice, the owners Pilippa and Paul were so helpful, even before we got there. Prem and Sunitha were on hand every day to make sure you wanted for nothing. Prem cleaned the pool everyday and made sure the sun beds were out. I even mentioned one day that I had not had a fresh coconut, Prem climbed the tree with string tied around his feet and bought me a coconut, Wow! There was lots of wildlife and beautiful flower everywhere in the garden. Sunitha is a fantastic cook I wish she could have come home with me. They are one very special couple. Channa and Saman the tuc tuc drivers were brilliant they knew all the right places to go and they were very friendly. ( like family).we went whale watching and to a turtle sanctuary, on an elephant. To a temple. Feeding turtles in the sea and much much more. I cannot explain how wounderful, stunning and relaxing the retreat is. It should be named the TREAT! I can’t wait to go back only this time I might just stop :-)…. Please don’t miss out on a wounderful experience go!! You won’t regret it, a memory that will last a lifetime.

 Marie R via Trip Advisor. February 2015
The house was absolutely amazing. Everything and more that you could ever have dreamed of. The housekeepers Prem and Sunitha were very kind to us, and Sunithas cooking is absolutely amazing. My family and I couldn’t have dreamed if a better place to start our vacation in Sri Lanka. Even though the house is a bit hard to find and far away from the beach we wouldn’t have stayed any where else in Hikkaduwa. Every body should treat themselves with a stay at the villa. The pictures of the interior of the house, doesn’t do any justice to experiencing the house in reality. It’s much nicer than what the pictures show.
Marian, Norfolk, UK, March 2015

“The Amazing Retreat”

We all saw the photos on it’s web page and Trip Advisor but they really do not do it justice – what an amazing place! Although we spent some days away from the villa and a few days out and about locally we were always itching to get back to the sanctuary of The Retreat. All you really needed to do is get yourself comfy on one of the loungers by the pool and watch and listen! There are so many things going on around you with the birds and wildlife.

The Sri Lankan people we met are kind, caring and willing to oblige at every opportunity. The team that look after you are fabulous and cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. Premme and Sunitha, who maintain the villa to a very high standard, are wonderful people and we will miss them very much, especially Sunitha’s cooking (it was so good we asked her to cook nearly every night)!

If you want a quiet and relaxing place to stay whilst visiting Sri Lanka, I cannot recommend The Retreat highly enough, we will certainly return.

David Zenesa (via Airbnb) March 2015

 We had a wonderful experience and are determined to come back. The house is beautiful and perfectly clean and the pool is huge and always warm. There is a lovely couple who live on site in another house, Prem who takes care of the garden and Sunitha who keeps the house clean and cooks the most delicious food. They also spent time with our children and developed a very beautiful and genuine bond with them. We really enjoyed their company and excellent service. We had an absolutely perfect experience and wish we could live there all year long!
Morgan Dalton via Airbnb July 2015

This a very last minute booking when another accommodation fell through. Samantha was fantastic at responding to our emails and providing information before booking. Driver Upal was waiting to collect us at the airport even although we were delayed for a couple of hours as we had no baggage. He was professional and courteous and drove us to the villa in hua air conditioned van. What Morag loved about your listing: Prem and Sunitha and everything they did to (website hidden). Cleaning. Pool maintenance. Arranging transport. Prawn delivery!! Fishing trips. Loved the spacious villa Luxury bedlinen Comfortable beds Fantastic pool Decking overhanging the stunning lagoon. Drinks on balcony overlooking lagoon Ultimately we felt totally safe and protected which is so important when staying in a foreign country with children . Presence of a guard dog roaming at night was reassuring. What Morag thought you could improve about the experience: Nothing to improve on.

Michael via Homeaway, July 2015

Very well maintained holiday home. Very clean and comfortable. Lovely, peaceful location. The photos on the website do not do this villa justice! Pool was cleaned every morning by Prem who co managed the property with his wife Sunita who cooked delicious meals at your request (guests pay for the ingredients and it is at the guests’ discretion what to pay Sunita for her cooking time at the end of your stay) . The water temperature of the pool was perfect even though it was not heated. Prem took us on the lake in the rowing boat one evening which was very relaxing. Lots of wildlife to see, including birds, chipmunks etc. Although Prem and Sunita live in separate accommodation a few yards from the Retreat they do not impose and respect your privacy but are always on hand to help if needed. Galle Forte, Turtle Sanctuary and River Boat Cruise are a must and all within a tuk tuk ride. There are 3 brothers assigned to the villa operating tuk tuk and mini van service which was very good value, very friendly and polite. We used them to visit nearby attractions and our return trip to Colombo airport. We would highly recommend The Retreat for both couples and families. Our only regret was we didn’t stay longer! Would definitely stay here again! Thank you to Sunita and Prem for making our stay so enjoyable.

Shekhar, Chevy Chase, Maryland, US, July 2015

We had a lovely time in this enchanting house. It really is a little slice of paradise. Our kids spent most of their time in the large, impeccably kept pool. We all enjoyed waking up to the symphony of bird and insect life in the gardens. One evening we took the boat out on the lake just as the sun was setting over the mangroves. Prem and Suneela pampered us at every opportunity, while Sanji took us to all the sights in his convoy of tuk tuks. A great family vacation; we will return as soon as possible.

Renaud, France

Superbe villa au calme dans un cadre idyllique. Sunitha et Preme étaient aux petits soins et nous ont préparé d’excellents plats locaux. Description fidèle à la réalité. Je recommande vivement pour une mise au vert. Nous y avons passé 3 semaines exceptionnelles en famille. Seule point de vigilance, le taxi attitré de la maison, Sanjee, qui pratique des prix très au dessus de la moyenne locale. A mettre en concurrence (nombreuses possibilité à Hikkaduwa) ou en prendre un autre comme nous l’avons fait après avoir comparé les prix.

 Amman, Dubai, UAE, November 2015

“Can’t wait to get back”

My wife, 3 kids, mom and mom’s friend stayed there for 2 weeks in November 2015. We had a great time. The house is awesome, the grounds are beautiful, it’s quiet but close to the beach, Prem and Sunitha are fabulous and the pool was the center of our life for the entire trip. My kids (5, 3 and 9 months) were safe and secure and loved seeing tree frogs and mongooses and monitor lizards and beautiful birds (when they could be bothered to get out of the pool). Sunitha is a great cook of local dishes and Prem will take care of you, whether buying cinnamon wood for grilling steaks or picking up some water or vegetables. We rented a little chalet at the beach a couple days and stayed at the beach all day and did a couple trips but honestly, we only wanted to enjoy the family around the house. We did go to the nearby restaurant – a little pricey but very nice. The kids enjoyed the turtle hatchery and we enjoyed the river boat trip – only a couple hours but kept the kids attention throughout. While I was quite happy to eat Sunitha’s cooking every day we did go out to the JHL restaurant (very good) and had dinner on the beach one night at The Joint. My kids are still talking about Sri Lanka 3 months later. We can’t wait to go back. And I’ve already recommended The Retreat to friends. Book a car through the owner – very easy and reasonably priced. The internet wasn’t the best but it was good enough that I got some work done (I wish it had been off the entire time:))

Lauren, UK, December 2015

The Retreat can only be described as a luxury tropical oasis. Greeted by our happy driver at the airport, we were swiftly transported into our new home. I was staying at the Retreat with 6 friends for Christmas, and wanted somewhere special to enjoy company, nature and relax – and it did just that. The house itself is impeccably decorated and has every amenity you could wish for. Exploring the grounds you will find a gorgeous pool, hammock chill out area with fish pool and your own boat to explore the lagoon – we were so taken aback by the beauty of it all that one of my friends shed a tear! This is by far the best place we have stayed on our trip so far and cannot recommended the retreat and all its staff enough. Many thanks to all for making Christmas such a memorable one

Angela, Spalding, UK, January 2016

“A trip of a lifetime”

What a truly remarkable place to visit. The villa was 5* surrounded by beautiful trees and overlooking a lake, a garden of Eden. We spent days relaxing round the pool and being waited on by Prem & Sinetha, we felt like a king and queeOn trips out we went white water rafting, elephant rides and visiting beautiful beaches. I have already recommended The Retreat to all our friends and family and hope we can go back again very soon.Thanks again to Philippa and Paul (the owners) for making this our most unforgettable holiday ever

Selina, Sydney, Australia, January 2016

“Peaceful retreat on the lake”

After a week on the beach in Hikkaduwa, we decided to come here for some peace and it is lovely and quiet while still close to town. The pool is large and you can row the boat, fish of the jetty and watch the large water monitors as they walk across the garden. Sunitha and Prem are lovely people who help with the breakfast and if you want any other meal prepared; just pick up the ingredients and let Sunitha do her magic. Her food is lovely.

You are a little isolated but that is part of the charm and while it is close to town you are locked into the local drivers that the owner will tell you about. That said the tuk tuk rate is fair so that is ok. There is one restaurant, Mangrovia Lagoon, which is walking distant and a special treat so that is good.

Liam, Kings Lynn, UK, January 2016

“The retreat”

This can only be described as a beautiful place! My first impression when we all got there was probably similar to everyone else’s “wow”. The pictures honestly do not do this place justice! It’s relaxing for the days when you don’t want much to do, but should you want a day trip go to the beach, into the town, etc. booking with the local guys (Channa, sanjee and uppul) could not be easier, they have a vast knowledge and can reccomend places to go and see! Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Prem and sanita, who look after the house, make your say so much better, washing is done, beds changed and made everyday (regardless if you do the yourself!) and they never seem to stop to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Overall great location, beautiful villa, friendly staff – you’re very own ‘retreat’ away from reality

Georges, Dubai, United Arab Emirates February 2016

every thing was awesome,specially the crew of the villa and the drivers.Sangi was a perfect person,he help us in many things and he took us to different places to discover hikkaduwa

Ziad, Dubai, UAE March 2016

Best place ever … Relaxing and calm area. 3 nights was superb , from the time we step In till the check out day we were so happy. I highly recommend the retreat hotel . Philippa and team thank you so much and for sure you will see me again

Morag, United Kingdom

This a very last minute booking when another accommodation fell through. Samantha was fantastic at responding to our emails and providing information before booking. Driver Upal was waiting to collect us at the airport even although we were delayed for a couple of hours as we had no baggage. He was professional and courteous and drove us to the villa in hua air conditioned van.

David, Sydney, Australia

We had a wonderful experience and are determined to come back. The house is beautiful and perfectly clean and the pool is huge and always warm. There is a lovely couple who live on site in another house, Prem who takes care of the garden and Sunitha who keeps the house clean and cooks the most delicious food. They also spent time with our children and developed a very beautiful and genuine bond with them. We really enjoyed their company and excellent service. We had an absolutely perfect experience and wish we could live there all year long!

The Gruttner Family, Hong Kong, China, April 2016

“A perfect place to unwind and reflect on your travel experience….”We (Family of 5 with teenage “children”) stayed at “The Retreat” for 4 nights at the end of April. It was a last minute booking and quite frankly, we were originally looking for a place on the beach. However, the “Retreat” looked pretty special – so why not try it? Lucky we booked the “Retreat”! The villa’s position right on the lagoon gives it an open and airy feel, the coolness of the surrounding tropical garden and swimming pool provide a welcome relief from the hussle and bustle of the hot and sometimes busy beach area. Tastefully decorated,the non-resident owners have created a small slice of heaven for us to enjoy. Resident managers Preme & Sunnitha, who live in a separate house on the grounds, are there for you should you need anything. Sunnitha’s magnificent cooking skills (and the fact that both her and Preme will never let you even touch a dirty dish) allowes for ultimate relaxation. It’s the perfect base to explore the area, knowing you can come back from your ventures in the afternoon for a swim, gin and tonic and an authentic SriLankan meal. As it turned out…. this place is special and should be part of anyone’s holiday itinerary.

Tasha, Boston, UK, April 2016

“Best adventure ever!”

The villa is absolutely gorgeous, the swimming pool was always lovely warm. The staff were so lovely, the food they made was absolutely delicious. Always had someone to get us when we wanted to go into the town. Never felt so welcome in my life. If you want to go Sri Lanka hikkaduwa, then this is the place you should stay. It felt just like home!

Anthony, Gateshead, United Kingdom, June 2016

What an amazing time and experience we had over the 3 days in this Villa. Everything and we mean everything was just perfect, the gardens, the superb pool and the not forgetting the villa interior. A special thanks must go to Prem and Suneta who looked after us so well during our stay

Catherine, Living in Phuket, from South Africa, July 2016

Such a lovely tranquil property! Loads of wild life and lush greenery. The manager and manageress are a kind and gentle couple and very very helpful. We’ll certainly be back.

Mary, Beaumaris, United Kingdom, July 2016

My husband and 3 children spent two nights at the Retreat last week and it was a truly relaxing experience. The villa is really beautiful and exactly as described. There was plenty of space for us all to spread out. The house is more like a home with every mod con you need. The pool is gorgeous, large and really refreshing. Preme & Sunitha, the villa’s housekeepers, were fantastic! Both are very quiet and gentle and they looked after us so well. Sunitha cooked a fabulous meal for us on the first night and also breakfast both mornings…..we felt truly spoilt! Preme also kindly took the kids for a boat ride on the lagoon. They loved it! I would, without any hesitation whatsoever, recommend this beautiful villa for anyone visiting this area.

Joe, Fareham, UK, August 2016

“Wonderful!!”

You certainly will not be disappointed when you arrive at The Retreat! Beautiful villa with an amazing emerald green coloured pool, tastefully landscaped and well cared for. Prem and Suneetha are truly wonderful people, who after 11 nights you really get to know, and sad to have to leave. Suneetha cooking is outstanding. We enjoyed popping to the market to get fresh veg and fish for Suneetha to prepare, 5*. We vIsited several places whilst there, with the aid of Sanji and crew. We also tagged on a 3 day tour to the hill country, again, Sanji organised this and came with us (great guy!!)

A wonderful, relaxing, family holiday with our boys. Not forgetting the perfect weather!

Emmanuel via Homeaway, August 2016

The four of us have had wonderful time at the villa where we spent nearly two weeks. The organization was efficient with Philippa. The villa and its surroundings are truly beautiful. We have been taken in charge from day one by the amazing staff. Suneetha and Prem were very discrete but always available to cook fabulous dishes and care about us. Channa and Sanjee have set up outstanding trips across Sri Lanka for us and made us discover such amazing places. We definitely recommend this place as well as the very nice, kind, dedicated and remarquable staff

Janos, Berlin, Germany, October 2016

LIKE PARADISE! We knew from the start that our stay would be something special. We had a pickup in the middle of the night at Colombo airport and when we arrived at The Retreat breakfast was already on the table. To spend our days with Sunitha, Preme and Sanji was such a delight. Just to name a few highlights: Fishing in the evening, watching megabats, fresh coconuts, playing table tennis, sitting under the cabana and watching lizards and enjoying Sunitha’s sri lankan breakfast and dinner … it could go on forever. Thank you for this lovely stay!

Lian, Alphington, Australia, November 2016

Paradise! So much more than expected. A beautiful setting with some amazing wildlife. We were welcomed by the warm housekeepers and thoroughly spoiled by them! Our kids didn’t want to leave them, in fact we all didn’t want to leave such a beautiful spot. Sunitha’s cooking was mouth-watering. Lots of nice beaches a tuk tuk drive away. Highly recommended for the ultimate paradise break! Also highly recommend the driver Upul for your whole time in Sri Lanka… We are on a 2 week tour and he is taking us everywhere and is fantastic.

Ousep, Mumbai, India, November 2016

The apartment is very well designed and has 3 rooms on the 1st floor, with a huge inter connected balcony. The swimming pool is clean and well maintained and there is also a lagoon with a small pier where one can sit and relax. It is located a little away from the beach(10 minute drive) and we had our own transportation so that was convenient, otherwise multiple tuk tuks can be arranged on site. We had a meal cooked for us in the kitchen by the staff that stays on the property which was fantastic. There a lot of mosquitos which is common throughout Sri Lanka, so carry a lot of repellant. Table tennis table was a great draw and there is also a good selection of books to choose from

Janine, Kings Lynn, UK, November 2016

If you want your very own private piece of paradise, this is definitely the place to stay. A beautiful building set in a stunning location overlooking the river. I cannot fault ‘The Retreat’, we were very well looked after by Preme and Sunitha, who take fantastic care of the property and the guests. This was my first trip to Sri Lanka and I would definitely visit again and stay here. Thoroughly recommend this to anyone, amazingly beautiful place to unwind and relax. I can’t say enough positive things about my stay here

Laura, Grimston, UK, November 2016

“Still perfect!”

Back again to the retreat and still amazed by the beautiful location and surroundings! The villa is so wonderfully maintained and so comfortable to be in! Prem and Sunitha are the best hosts in the world, so caring, kind and respectful! Think this is probably my favourite place on the planet

 Gerda and Jules, Switzerland, February 2017
Our vocabulary is not advanced enough to express our feelings concerning the impressions, we got during our holidays. Most of all, there are the people of Sri Lanka. We have at once taken them into our hearts, beeing deeply touched by their natural friendliness.
Sunitha and Preme! Two of the nicest people you would ever like to know!  Sunithas’ cooking and Prem’s assistance in making our stay as pleasant as possible. Words can not describe our emotion, thinking of them. Writing this, the tears are not far away.
The Retreat itself is a dream. The architecture breathtaking and in every corner of the house you can feel the personal touch, you and Paul gave to this place! To us, it was more than a holiday destination, it was simply OUR HOME!!!
The picture shows a visitor we had one evening at our table. Meeting a scorpion, an outstanding situation but nothing to be afraid of.
We love animals of any kind and so getting the chance to make the most interesting picture of the entire holidays.
I got up every morning at a quarter to six (the singing birds were my alarm-clock) and exactly at six o’clock I was sitting on the jetty, courious about what the dawn might bring. Unforgettable impressions!
Thanks to both of you for having created such a paradise!
Sri Lanka will always have a place in our hearts and should we ever come back, the Retreat will be the only place to stay, for sure!!
Philippa and Paul, we wish you all the best for the time to come!!
We send the warmest greetings from Switzerland to the UK!
Marian Stewart, Uk, January 2017
“Fabulous accommodation, excellent staff and the setting is beautiful and full of wildlife.”

This was our 2nd visit to the villa. We first went in 2015 and covered a lot of Sri Lanka seeing all the sights. This time we went to enjoy the villa and the local beaches using the local train as well as Tuk Tuk’s. We were so looking forward to returning to the villa, which has all the luxuries to make a self catering holiday like a 5* all inclusive holiday. Shopping is easy, we took Suneetha and Channa on our first morning and got 3 weeks supplies in Galle, stocked the freezer and cupboards. We stayed by the pool watched mongoose, birds of all sizes, went to the beach swam with turtles had lunch in some lovely restaurants along the Hikkaduwa coast, went on a safari, saw elephants, crocodiles and many other small animals and birds. However, most days we spent swimming and reading by the lovely pool at the villa and spent our evenings eating the wonderful food that was prepared and cooked for us by Suneetha and Preme. All in all an amazing holiday again and we are looking forward to another 3 weeks in 2019!

 

Read more reviews on Trip Advisor, Airbnb and HomeAway.